When to cut back on web habits

Some people spend a lot of their time on the internet. For various reasons.
I have not had internet for about 8 weeks now and I can honestly say that even though it has been
frustrating at times it has actually done me some good too.
I used to spend far too many hours on the internet. Usually playing games.
Team Fortress 2 in particular.
I have spent hours and hours online ever since 2003 when I got hooked to a game called Counterstrike.
Some days I could sit and play for 8 hours a day (when I was unemployed). When I got a job I played after work and on weekends. I stopped going out because I had more fun gaming. I can honestly say that I got addicted.
  

Some people can't understand my fascination for these games. I don't understand it myself sometimes.
I don't play that much anymore. Couple of hours a day max. I felt it was time to start living in the "real" world again.
I still love to play games, but I don't feel the "need" to anymore.

That is just one of MY web habits that can take over someone's life. There are plenty of others.

Like Facebook.
Which I think is one of the biggest culprits at the moment. So many people spend hours on end on it.
I don't get the fascination for Facebook. It was fun in the beginning when it was new. When poking your friends was funny and then superpoking. Till you started getting poked every second by the same person.
Or when all the rubbish applications started popping up.

I go on Facebook to add pictures from various occasions and also to stay in touch with family members and friends who I can't see all the time.
The status thing is one thing that annoys me the most about Facebook. Some people I know update their status' 10 times a day.
Saying that they're about to clean,eat,brush their teeth etc. I DON'T want to know!! Haha.


I think it is time for us to stop being so addicted to the internet and spend some quality time with our loved ones for REAL rather than on the net. Before we end up all alone in a house with the PC as our only companion.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Alan

I am sure that a lot of what you say rings true for a lot of people. PC's and onlining is the new in thing, and will be for some time. 30yrs ago it was colour TV's and recordable tapes, now it's the internet. It's down to the individual to do as much or as little as they like to do, but addiction can play a part.



Nothing wrong with going online for a little while, but some people have to learn where to draw a line.

2009-07-29 @ 18:05:01
Postat av: Anonym

Things like the Internet and Television have advanced "communication" ... but in a way they have hindered it!.. Yes we can communicate these days with people all over the world.. people can communicate and express themsleves through films and shows on TV... but it seems to have led to less communication between the very people we are closest to.. our husbands, wives, children.. etc.. How many people you think sit at home watching TV or on the internet instead of conversing with their own partners?? I asked my grandparents when I was young.. what did you used to do before TV.. and they said we would all sit round the radio togther or we would talk to each other a lot more.. just something to think about.. for those who spend all of their precious time chatting to strangers instead

2009-07-30 @ 12:50:30

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0