Balkan

My heart will always beat for Bosnia. I'm born in Sweden and raised there.
Both of my parents are bosnian. I used to go there every summer when I was a child.
Before the war. The war that changed our lives forever.

I remember the summers in Bosnia. We started with a couple of weeks in Croatia by the sea.
Some of my fondest memories as a child are from there.
When we used to arrive to the little village where my parents originate from (called Siprage),
my late grandfather used to go to the neighbouring village and get a lamb (cruel yes..but it was the way it was)
The grown ups prepared the food and the kids were all playing outside on the swings or playing games.

I loved my house in Bosnia. It was big and everything inside it was beautiful.
My parents worked so hard back in Sweden to be able to afford the best in Bosnia.

My uncles and their families lived there (mums side). So did my late nan.
We used to spend a month being with our loved ones and enjoy life.
Never did we believe that our beloved paradise would be destroyed one day.

We did not go to Bosnia 1989,because my dad had a surgery.
The following year the war broke out. I was only a child, but I knew it meant the end of everything I held dear.
My parents were so worried,they did not want us to know.
I remember watching the news when the lovely bridge in Mostar got bombed to pieces. We were all crying.

My mums entire family was still in Bosnia, and we were worried about them.
One of my cousins managed to come to Sweden and he stayed with us.
My uncle,nan and his family had to leave and they went to Zagreb/Croatia.
And eventually they went to Germany. Where I spent many summers.

I could tell you stories that would make your hairs stand up, but that is not what I want.
We could not go to Bosnia for 13 years because of the war. I remember when it was time for us to return.
The country had been divided between Serbs and Muslim/Croats.
The village I used to call my home was in serbian territory and my mum was scared and anxious.
She had to get anti depressants because she did not know what to expect.
Our house had been raided during the war,and nothing but the walls were left...

I remember feeling sadness mixed with joy while we were driving across the border from Croatia into Bosnia.
Everything had changed. Houses were in ruins and flags had changed.
No longer was there a Yugoslavian flag, that had been replaced with different ones. Not my flag.
I did not feel as I belonged anymore.

I never felt like I belonged in Sweden either. I was classed a foreigner there, and when I went to Bosnia I was classed a Swede. Where did I belong? Who was I?

If you ask me what I am, I will proudly tell you I'm a Bosnian in my heart and mind.

I have not been there since 2003. I lost so much that summer. I have not been able to go back since.
I do want to go back soon. I feel such sadness when I think about what I'm missing.

Next part about Balkan will be it's music :)
Something that is very dear to me.

♥ Bosno Moja ♥


Pictures from Bosnia when I was younger and also after the war. Pictures of me and my loved ones ♥


Kommentarer
Postat av: Alan

Hi Karo,



very moving. Sad to hear it. Bosnia and your home there was a huge part of your life and who you were, and it was taken away from you. If you do ever go back, I hope you manage to make some new memories, but never forget the past.



I was in the RAF during the war in Bosnia. Some of the people I served with did tours over there, and none of them liked it. They never talked about it when they came back.



On a lighter note, we Brits are happy you are with us, and I hope now you have somewhere to belong. As a friend, my heart goes out to you and what you experienced.



Alan

2009-09-02 @ 01:25:50

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0