Day job versus passion

We are not all blessed with good fortune.
Imagine a world where you could work with what you enjoy the most and make a living on it.
Some (very rare) people do have all that, but us mere mortals, we have to get used to the "day job" and deal with it.
The bills wont get paid with Monopoly money unfortunately.
And sometimes you have to settle with having your passion as a hobby.

My passion is writing. I can't say I'm a talent. I know I got a lot to learn when it comes to writing, but it does not stop
me from doing it.
Another passion of mine is languages. I have an ability to learn new languages quite easily.
Some people tell me I should work with that talent, but it is easier said than done.

How many of us are stuck in a day job that we hate just because we are too "comfortable" with it?
It's easier to just go along with it rather than do what we really want to.
It's too risky to quit the day job (especially these days) and chase your dreams.

I have had enough of my day job, but I am doing something about it.
I'm going to start a writing course in October and hopefully write a novel one day.
Who knows, I might end up writing books for a living ;)
I might not even write one. 
  

But I am not going to think "what if?"
You should not settle with what ifs in life.
I rather have tried and failed than not tried at all.

    



Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

I known the feeling all too well!! I used to work in a factory after I did my degree.. I ahted it... its not what I wanted to do... it made my life a complete misery and I didnt see a way out! All I knew was that i needed money to live... I needed to work and this place paid me money.. I survived it ( I knew I was capapble of that) Careers were for other people!! ( i even tried to make a career within the factory I was that desperate).. I didnt have the impetus, the confidence or the direction to go out and follow my dreams!!! I didnt know where to start? and I was always too mentaly and physically tired by the end of the day anyway!! Eventually I left!! I had to leave as i was moving away... and luckily for me it led to a much better job.. which taught me better skills.. and now I have my dream job. I look back at my time at Hurst Plastics and in hindsight I can clearly see that jumping out of the frying pan doesnt always lead you into the fire!! There are better things out there..there are opportunities and roads towards a better working life that are just waiting for you to make the jump!! Its just a matter of confidence!A bit of drive and the ambition enough to seek out what you want and get what you deserve! If only I had known back then I'd have been where I am today years ago!

2009-07-30 @ 12:40:39

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0